Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Gilmer belt drives


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 SANDMAN

SANDMAN
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • Reputation: 0
  • Location:Gold Coast
  • State:QLD
  • Car:XE UTE

Posted 07 September 2016 - 03:29 PM

Howdy Boys, How many of you running belt drives and what is a good brand to look at (for reliability and loudness)

 

Cheerin



#2 NEATXD

NEATXD
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 216 posts
  • Reputation: 264
  • Car:351 XD xcopcar

Posted 08 September 2016 - 06:44 PM

I'm running the cheapest pro comp one I could find on eBay + a spare belt in the glove box. Hasn't let go yet.
NEATXD :hy:

#3 hendrixhc

hendrixhc
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 4352 posts
  • Reputation: 2525
  • Location:Adelaide Hills
  • State:SA
  • Car:FGXXR8

Posted 11 September 2016 - 11:23 AM

I got an Aeroflo set up and mine and havent had any issues.

 

Make sure you use an aftermarket alloy alternator bracket cause theres to much flex in the factory brackets.


HendrixHC 82 XEGL Falcon 351: 66 Mk1 Cortina: 03 BAXr6: 06 SY Territory: 05 Hayabusa

Posted Image

Project Thread : http://www.xfalcon.c...9834#post469834

#4 SANDMAN

SANDMAN
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • Reputation: 0
  • Location:Gold Coast
  • State:QLD
  • Car:XE UTE

Posted 12 September 2016 - 09:05 PM

I got an Aeroflo set up and mine and havent had any issues.
 
Make sure you use an aftermarket alloy alternator bracket cause theres to much flex in the factory brackets.


No worries man thanks for the tip. Cheers

#5 Gold 351

Gold 351
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
  • Reputation: 0
  • Location:Cranbourne
  • State:VIC
  • Car:82 ZJ Fairlane

Posted 25 September 2016 - 11:56 AM

I am running Procomp / Sydney speed Shop had one belt started to fray with standard brackets , got the alloy adjustable bracket  set and it spins straight no probs.

Belts are easy to get. Had to get different bolts for crank, cant remember if they were shorter ? 



#6 fairlane_ute

fairlane_ute
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Reputation: 0
  • Location:Wodonga
  • State:VIC
  • Car:XF 5.0 ute

Posted 11 November 2016 - 05:57 AM

Posted ImageAero flow also with no issues. Made my own bracketry with a slightly modified EF alternator

Sent from my GT-N7105T using Tapatalk



#7 FORD_MAN

FORD_MAN
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 586 posts
  • Reputation: 293
  • Location:Kerang
  • State:VIC
  • Car:99' AU XL ute,

Posted 13 November 2016 - 02:39 PM

I run a Proflow gilmer set, been upto 6000rpm & above plenty of times without any worries,

P/S belt slips a bit steering at idle, but more to do with adjustment being annoying,

 

 

IMG_2362_zps11b2eb07.jpg


sigpic1-600x100_zps59237e67.jpg

 

'99, AU UTE, 4.0lt, 5spd. '90 XF UTE 4.1 5spd, '83 XE S-PAK, 4.1lt.,'84 XE S-PAK 32,741kms,

'84 XE UTE, MILD 302C, C10 manualized auto, 2800rpm stall, XY 4.11:1 LSD, 240RWHP 15.0017/94.04 (w/ wheelspin)
XE DRAG UTE & XESP83 RESTO & 90 XF Restomod & GRANDPA XE S-Pak 

 


#8 ZEDJAY

ZEDJAY
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 56 posts
  • Reputation: 4
  • Location:bunbury
  • State:WA
  • Car:1980 zj fairlane

Posted 30 November 2016 - 05:50 PM

running speedmaster cheeeep as chips for $100.

no issues yet. 


CRUIZE IN STYLE FAIRLANE.....





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users